Really have no clue

So, I brought her home today and I could not believe that the humane society even released her, as I had never smelled anything so foul.  I mean disgusting.  I kept begging them to hose her off and they wouldn’t.  Finally, they told me that she had some diarrhea and was stressed.  Well, no shit, Sherlock!  Her start was beyond uneven and she is only 10-months old, so she is quite anxious.  One of my buddies was with me and we had a helluva time even finding the shelter and we both looked at each other like, “Are you kidding?!?”  She suggested that we walk home so we wouldn’t have to share a car with her , and I almost agreed.

Finally, we paid for her boarding that she had, bought a collar and took her to a Pet Store to be groomed.  Well, without a rabies shot, which the humane society would not give her, they can’t groom her.  We bought some oatmeal baking soda shampoo and set out.  She is not accustomed to car travel and is super clingy.  My buddy, who is super allergic, had to keep pushing her back and telling her that she is way more stubborn than she is.  She was covered in hives and having asthmatic breathing by the time we got home.  We soaped her up and took her to the creek.  The only thing was without another dog, she would not play enough, so we had to take her home and hose her.  She didn’t love it, but she was compliant.

My friend had to go home, so I gave her a super tight hug of thanks and set off.  We walked and stopped to play, we ran, and we began to love each other.  As I type, she is at my feet and not on the expensive dog cushion.  I think that I may be loving something very soon, if it has not already happened.  I don’t know anything about dogs, but I’m about to start learning.

About rachelmich17

I'm 42, and doing much better to keep my life in balance. I will probably be raising an only child--my son--so as a result of various experiences over the last four years, I have decided to adopt a dog. My son, who has been asking for a little sister or a dog for years made her adoption easier, so I will try to pretend that we know what do do with Storm. I don't keep up with her blog too much, but I know that I should write more, because like exercise, it always helps me. We also have Wicket, a chihuahua terrier who runs the house and two cats, Twig and Zephyr. I guess you could say it's an animal house--less the frat lifestyle. I love them and am encouraged to see how they interact and enjoy each other. I completed my doctorate in the fall of 2014 and teach Adjunct at a major university while working the day job. I've also taught three classes on-line, and hope once I'm done working for a grant that I am under that I can become a Professor. I started a new position as a trainer / coach for adults who work with school aged kids. I train in suicide intervention, crisis skills, trauma informed practices at school and in mental health, and mentoring. I have also begun to conduct local and nationwide consultations with other agencies who work to coordinate improved behavioral health service provision for children and families. I'm grateful to no longer be providing direct services to adolescents. After 15-years, I needed a break. I have another blog that is more personal and is not about my dog. I had one that was similar to this one, but it was much more of a rant, because at the time, I was in endless dating hell. I had a crush for many years on a woman who is now my wife. We have had a long journey to get here. I hope that you enjoy reading some of our day to day stuff. Thank you for reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

