After a loooong hiatus

It’s time for me to write about Storm again.  She has really changed a lot too in the last month.  She barks a lot less in general.  Thanks stainless steel pot with lid.  (Honestly, if you rescue a dog, and you want her to stop alerting to you to the fact that, let’s say your neighbors have parked up the street, or that there is a family with a jogger and lab walking in the middle of of the street, you can throw a pan down.  We have one that has no handle, but is a good pot and we leave the lid nesting non-cooking direction, so when we toss it onto our hardwoods when she is barking given no emergency, she stops.)

She also watches me all the time when people knock on the door and rarely jumps on them even when I release her after hand signals for sit and lay down.  This girl who is an acquaintance of mine lent me “The Other End of the Leash,” and the chapter on how visual dogs really are was most salient for me.  A huge shift relating to Storm has been that I don’t talk much to her except when I’m being affectionate and do commands and redirection with hand signals only.

We walked about 4-miles last night down the trails in another area of the city.  My son had his guitar class and a pick-up rehearsal for a number that he barely remembers.  So, I had tons of time.  We had a wonderful walk and she discovered that she loves prairie dogs.  Perhaps they are a distant second to the bunnies that overrun our trail system at home.  She is a good dog though, and has really improved.  I’ll try to post weekly about her again, but do hope that those of you who are inclined will read my sister blog with this username regarding children and their printmaking.  Happy weekend.

About rachelmich17

I'm 42, and doing much better to keep my life in balance. I will probably be raising an only child--my son--so as a result of various experiences over the last four years, I have decided to adopt a dog. My son, who has been asking for a little sister or a dog for years made her adoption easier, so I will try to pretend that we know what do do with Storm. I don't keep up with her blog too much, but I know that I should write more, because like exercise, it always helps me. We also have Wicket, a chihuahua terrier who runs the house and two cats, Twig and Zephyr. I guess you could say it's an animal house--less the frat lifestyle. I love them and am encouraged to see how they interact and enjoy each other. I completed my doctorate in the fall of 2014 and teach Adjunct at a major university while working the day job. I've also taught three classes on-line, and hope once I'm done working for a grant that I am under that I can become a Professor. I started a new position as a trainer / coach for adults who work with school aged kids. I train in suicide intervention, crisis skills, trauma informed practices at school and in mental health, and mentoring. I have also begun to conduct local and nationwide consultations with other agencies who work to coordinate improved behavioral health service provision for children and families. I'm grateful to no longer be providing direct services to adolescents. After 15-years, I needed a break. I have another blog that is more personal and is not about my dog. I had one that was similar to this one, but it was much more of a rant, because at the time, I was in endless dating hell. I had a crush for many years on a woman who is now my wife. We have had a long journey to get here. I hope that you enjoy reading some of our day to day stuff. Thank you for reading.
This entry was posted in Almost One Year and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

