Mystery Wound

I’m still pretty jet lagged.  I worked a half-day yesterday and will work one today as well, and then I fly out for a training at a university in the midwest.  Our trip to the big island was incredible, and I’ll write about it soon, but don’t have time or energy today.

I had taken our runt terrier to her first vet appointment yesterday, and while I was running an errand before bringing her home, I had some frantic texts from my partner.  She told me that Storm had a gash, but when I finally looked at it after going back to the vet–this time via the emergency department–it seemed more of a gaping wound on her rear right leg.  It made me really sad.

We still have no idea what happened.  She did let herself out on Sunday evening for a bunny chase, so it is possible that she got hung up in a fence.  She’s not herself today, and not at all vocal.  She is rather Chewbacca most of the time, and tends toward stamping her feet by the french doors at squirrels, birds, and bunnies that may have found their way into our garden.  Seeing her this sedate is really sad.

I want to plug Alameda East Veterinary Care in this post.  They are amazing.  She had torn away some skin and the vet did an amazing job stitching her up.  She also explained all of the post operative care to a t.  Poor Storm!  I hope that she will be ok while I’m out of town for four-days.  I’m sure that my son and partner will give her some extras.

So heartbreaking!

So heartbreaking!

About rachelmich17

I'm 42, and doing much better to keep my life in balance. I will probably be raising an only child--my son--so as a result of various experiences over the last four years, I have decided to adopt a dog. My son, who has been asking for a little sister or a dog for years made her adoption easier, so I will try to pretend that we know what do do with Storm. I don't keep up with her blog too much, but I know that I should write more, because like exercise, it always helps me. We also have Wicket, a chihuahua terrier who runs the house and two cats, Twig and Zephyr. I guess you could say it's an animal house--less the frat lifestyle. I love them and am encouraged to see how they interact and enjoy each other. I completed my doctorate in the fall of 2014 and teach Adjunct at a major university while working the day job. I've also taught three classes on-line, and hope once I'm done working for a grant that I am under that I can become a Professor. I started a new position as a trainer / coach for adults who work with school aged kids. I train in suicide intervention, crisis skills, trauma informed practices at school and in mental health, and mentoring. I have also begun to conduct local and nationwide consultations with other agencies who work to coordinate improved behavioral health service provision for children and families. I'm grateful to no longer be providing direct services to adolescents. After 15-years, I needed a break. I have another blog that is more personal and is not about my dog. I had one that was similar to this one, but it was much more of a rant, because at the time, I was in endless dating hell. I had a crush for many years on a woman who is now my wife. We have had a long journey to get here. I hope that you enjoy reading some of our day to day stuff. Thank you for reading.
This entry was posted in 2015 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

