Rescues

Storm has been particularly difficult lately.  In November, we had some really heavy rains, and when my son was going out the door to leave for practice, she ran out.  I didn’t want to be late for his practice, so I just drove over to it–about 15-minutes away–and then came home to get her.  She had dug up some of the rocks under our juniper bushes, so she was anxious during the half-hour.

The bad thing is that when she was keyed up, she also barked at a neighbor who was getting out of her car.  She is very sweet, but looks mean.  On the Saturday of that week, the neighbor came over and told us about it.  She was very upset, and my partner wanted us to get rid of her.

Storm has a heavy prey drive.  She can’t turn it off.  Since our county eradicated most of the foxes in this area where we live, the bunnies have been overpopulated.  There are times when Storm will pull your arm out of socket to chase them.  She also tends toward running out the door at times to chase one.  She got out again a week or so later when my son and I were biking with one of his best friends and his sister and leaving the house. The boys got her back pretty quickly, but it’s stressful.

I hired a renowned dog trainer, who worked with us for two-hours.  She’s doing better on the whole, but after we dog sat over Thanksgiving, she decided that she wouldn’t sleep in her den two nights after the dog left.  I don’t love that she sleeps on my son’s bottom bunk, but there is not much that I can do about it, because her whining is too much.

The last thing that I’ve done is bought a diffuser with phermones in it.  Since then, she has only gotten out once, and it was because she didn’t like that I was shoveling outside for a couple of hours.  My son was helping, very little, but was outside with me anyway, and when he went inside to get his snowboarding goggles, he let her out.  He got her back within five minutes.

I know that she has a lot of trauma triggers.  I even know her history.  But, she is not the easiest dog.  I love her a ton, and really hope that we can do some heavy bonding this summer.  I actually have ample time off this year, so we can work together.

About rachelmich17

I'm 42, and doing much better to keep my life in balance. I will probably be raising an only child--my son--so as a result of various experiences over the last four years, I have decided to adopt a dog. My son, who has been asking for a little sister or a dog for years made her adoption easier, so I will try to pretend that we know what do do with Storm. I don't keep up with her blog too much, but I know that I should write more, because like exercise, it always helps me. We also have Wicket, a chihuahua terrier who runs the house and two cats, Twig and Zephyr. I guess you could say it's an animal house--less the frat lifestyle. I love them and am encouraged to see how they interact and enjoy each other. I completed my doctorate in the fall of 2014 and teach Adjunct at a major university while working the day job. I've also taught three classes on-line, and hope once I'm done working for a grant that I am under that I can become a Professor. I started a new position as a trainer / coach for adults who work with school aged kids. I train in suicide intervention, crisis skills, trauma informed practices at school and in mental health, and mentoring. I have also begun to conduct local and nationwide consultations with other agencies who work to coordinate improved behavioral health service provision for children and families. I'm grateful to no longer be providing direct services to adolescents. After 15-years, I needed a break. I have another blog that is more personal and is not about my dog. I had one that was similar to this one, but it was much more of a rant, because at the time, I was in endless dating hell. I had a crush for many years on a woman who is now my wife. We have had a long journey to get here. I hope that you enjoy reading some of our day to day stuff. Thank you for reading.
This entry was posted in 2015 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

