Cabin Fever

Poor Storm!  She can’t understand why we push and throw snow off our driveway and sidewalks, but we don’t want to throw her ball.  The high was 2 on Saturday.  It was 67 when we walked her and Wicket on Thursday.  Crazy Colorado weather, but it is really good that we have some snowpack right now…  If it snows again in the next two-weeks, we will only be slightly under average for our mountain range.

Disembowled Alligator.jpg

I’m lookin’ for a dolly that’ll see me right

We had bought her a quadruple stitched alligator last March.  She finally disemboweled it last weekend.  At least this toy lasted 8-months.  Some of the ones that we buy at discount stores are disposable.  She simply has to carry things in her mouth to cope, but tends toward playing a little rough.  Storm in many ways is her own worse enemy.

On Saturday, I just did the minimum that I had to do.  Meaning that I took my son to a birthday party and we went to basketball game.  I wanted to save $17 though, so I parked across from the University–far from the venue.  Walking those blocks was very cold.  I’m sure it was under a half-mile, but when we were walking back from a Nuggets victory, it was -5.

Storm and Wicket lucked out on Saturday though…  A young male husky, who I believe is neutered, jumped our fence and played with them both until our neighborhood real estate agent came to get him.  He told me that he followed his tracks.  There is a red, large husky who is probably intact that smells and pees.  He doesn’t play when he comes to visit. Storm hits him (Boxes him really.) in the back when he jumps into our backyard and he ignores her.  But, Loki, the realtor’s dog, was a gem and played with Wicket and Storm. Which is a good thing because we didn’t walk them on Saturday:

Impromptu.jpg

Saturday!  Saturday!  Saturday!  Get a little action in.

This morning, Storm touched noses with the kitten, Zephyr.  She also snuck into the basement and smelled Twig’s back.  She wants to like the cats.  She desperately wants them to be her friends, but she doesn’t have boundaries.   I keep thinking of Janeane Garafalo who says, “You can love your pets…  You just can’t love your pets.”  Someone needs to tell Storm that she can love the cats, she just can’t love the cats.  I have hope for Storm and Zephyr.  Quite a bit less for Twig and Storm.  We call Twig the soft princess and she is super sweet with people, but does not love anyone else.  She looks at Wicket like she is disgusting, actively HATES Storm, and gets mad with Zephyr when he wants to play with her.

I’m going to go to the pet store today.  I actually ran out of Storm’s food and she had to eat a half cup of Wicket’s.  She only had a cup left.  I’m sure that they are like, “What the hell?!?  Where is our food, lady?”  They only have 45-minutes left to wait now though. I’m going to hike and snowshoe with Storm and Wicket after I get them fed and such.  I have some plans this week and plan to lay completely low all next week.  Vacation is a good thing.  We’ll all do our best to address cabin fever.

About rachelmich17

I'm 42, and doing much better to keep my life in balance. I will probably be raising an only child--my son--so as a result of various experiences over the last four years, I have decided to adopt a dog. My son, who has been asking for a little sister or a dog for years made her adoption easier, so I will try to pretend that we know what do do with Storm. I don't keep up with her blog too much, but I know that I should write more, because like exercise, it always helps me. We also have Wicket, a chihuahua terrier who runs the house and two cats, Twig and Zephyr. I guess you could say it's an animal house--less the frat lifestyle. I love them and am encouraged to see how they interact and enjoy each other. I completed my doctorate in the fall of 2014 and teach Adjunct at a major university while working the day job. I've also taught three classes on-line, and hope once I'm done working for a grant that I am under that I can become a Professor. I started a new position as a trainer / coach for adults who work with school aged kids. I train in suicide intervention, crisis skills, trauma informed practices at school and in mental health, and mentoring. I have also begun to conduct local and nationwide consultations with other agencies who work to coordinate improved behavioral health service provision for children and families. I'm grateful to no longer be providing direct services to adolescents. After 15-years, I needed a break. I have another blog that is more personal and is not about my dog. I had one that was similar to this one, but it was much more of a rant, because at the time, I was in endless dating hell. I had a crush for many years on a woman who is now my wife. We have had a long journey to get here. I hope that you enjoy reading some of our day to day stuff. Thank you for reading.
This entry was posted in 2016, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

