Storm and Zephyr’s Best Friend

By the time Monday rolled around, we all needed to be up in the hills, so we went snowshoeing.  I found out that Wicket’s harness is now too small, so I’ll need to get her a new one next week, but that was discovered through another set of circumstances that I can get to later.  Anyway, although it was cold–41–it felt like it was 90 in comparison to the negative 5 on the weekend so we got up to the hills before noon.

Trailhead Meyer Ranch.jpg

Getting all the gear ready and using the restroom before the snowshoe begins

Storm does this intense sniffing thing when she is in a new area.  About 2-minutes after I snapped this picture, she wiggled out of her harness trying to smell a dog coming back down from a hike with his owner.  I am so lucky that she came back when I called her.  She really has changed and gotten way more obedient.  I was with her on Christmas Day four-years ago and wasn’t so lucky:

Christmas 2012.jpeg

A bit after this picture was taken on Christmas Day in 2012, I let her off-leash for about an hour of being scared…  At that point, she would not come when called.

I lost her for a long time, and my almost 7-year-old would have definitely had his heart broken had I not finally found her.  I never really wrote about the details, but she was very lost and I was terrified.  One, she has calmed substantially, and two, I’m very glad that I paid for a professional dog trainer to do one-on-one mentoring of me working with her. I’m so glad that she has learned what she needs to so she can be completely bonded with me.

She is a good girl.  Her sister, Wicket, pulls like crazy although she is all of 10-11 lbs.  I know that it’s weird to ballpark a weight for a dog, but Wicket is food obsessed.  I mean it when I write OBSESSED too.  One time she drank the rancid vegetable oil from my mother-in-law’s tray under her bee hive which keeps wasps out.  Afterward, Wicket salad shootered oil out her butt for days.  That was a treat to clean up!

So, Wicket, pulls and she eats.  That is all.  Here she is on the trail with Storm on Monday:

storm-and-wicket-12-19-16

Storm and Wicket

So, I found out on Wednesday night that Wicket’s harness gives her abrasions.  It must be a bit too small now given her proclivity toward pulling as hard as she can like a crazed rocking horse.  I’m going to find a softer one.

Anyway, on Wednesday, I had to take Wicket to the Vet at night because she wouldn’t move.  The Vet doing the intake asked about the abrasions.  She thought that maybe Wicket was being attacked by Zephyr.  Wicket pushes everyone around and would never allow herself to be attacked.  I had seen Wicket eating some of Zephyr’s poop covered in kitty litter on Wednesday afternoon, but I thought that I’d gotten it mostly away from her.  She was lethargic and bed bound by evening.  I had her in the Emergency Department of the Vet until past ten.  She’s still not on her A-game, but seems better.

Poor Storm!  Her sister has GI issues and her brother doesn’t understand why she is fascinated by him.  I think that she is one of the most misunderstood creatures on the planet.

This is Storm’s brother.  She would like to keep him.  Storm must learn that cute cannot be consumed:

Zephyr has two switches.  This one is

Zephyr has two switches. This one is “off.”

About rachelmich17

I'm 42, and doing much better to keep my life in balance. I will probably be raising an only child--my son--so as a result of various experiences over the last four years, I have decided to adopt a dog. My son, who has been asking for a little sister or a dog for years made her adoption easier, so I will try to pretend that we know what do do with Storm. I don't keep up with her blog too much, but I know that I should write more, because like exercise, it always helps me. We also have Wicket, a chihuahua terrier who runs the house and two cats, Twig and Zephyr. I guess you could say it's an animal house--less the frat lifestyle. I love them and am encouraged to see how they interact and enjoy each other. I completed my doctorate in the fall of 2014 and teach Adjunct at a major university while working the day job. I've also taught three classes on-line, and hope once I'm done working for a grant that I am under that I can become a Professor. I started a new position as a trainer / coach for adults who work with school aged kids. I train in suicide intervention, crisis skills, trauma informed practices at school and in mental health, and mentoring. I have also begun to conduct local and nationwide consultations with other agencies who work to coordinate improved behavioral health service provision for children and families. I'm grateful to no longer be providing direct services to adolescents. After 15-years, I needed a break. I have another blog that is more personal and is not about my dog. I had one that was similar to this one, but it was much more of a rant, because at the time, I was in endless dating hell. I had a crush for many years on a woman who is now my wife. We have had a long journey to get here. I hope that you enjoy reading some of our day to day stuff. Thank you for reading.
This entry was posted in 2016 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

